top of page




The Blue Star Memorial Marker Program (NGC)

The National Garden Clubs, Inc. have had a program in place to honor service men & women since 1945. It's the Blue Star Memorial Program, and it began with the planting of 8,000 Dogwood trees by the New Jersey Council of Garden Clubs in 1944 as a living memorial to veterans of World War II. The following year the National Council of Garden Clubs, as it was called at the time, adopted the program and began a Blue Star Highway system, which covers thousands of miles across the  United States, including Alaska and Hawaii. A large metal Blue Star Highway Marker was placed in appropriate locations along the way.

The program expanded to include all men and women who had served, were serving or would serve in the armed services of the United States. Memorial Markers and By-way Markers were added to the Highway Markers, to be used at locations such as National cemeteries, parks, veteran's facilities and gardens. The Blue Star became an icon in World War II and was seen on flags and banners in homes for sons and daughters away at war, as well as in churches and businesses.

This program has been active all through the years to the present, a fitting tribute always and especially now. Many states and regions have been very dedicated, but there is room for growth in some areas.


                       Location of Alaska Blue Star Markers

Anchor Point - 16 miles from Kenai   dedicated 7/22/1970

Anchorage - 6th and Juneau Streets    dedicated 6/19/1974

Eagle River - Chief Alex Park dedicated 6/24/2019

Fairbanks - Weeks Field   dedicated 6/11/1979

Juneau - Gone Missing      dedicated 06/1990

Kenai - Triangle Park (Main Str/Frontage Rd/Kenai Spur Highway) dedicated 1970

Ketchikan - Alaska Marine Highway Terminal   dedicated 6/4/1974

Tok - Visitors Center (Junction of SR1 & SR2)  dedicated 8/15/1973

Wasilla - Iditapark   dedicated 9/16/2010

Alaska Blue Star Markers

       Anchor Point                                        Anchorage                                      Eagle River

           Fairbanks                                                                                                                 Kenai

            Ketchikan                                                   Tok                                                     Wasilla

bottom of page